Home > conferences, work > slidecast: a house divided

slidecast: a house divided

April 30, 2008

My slides from Adaptive Path’s Managing Experience [MX ’08] conference are up over at Slideshare.

I’ve realized a couple things over the past year. The big one is that I like to use abstractions to make certain things make sense to myself – and then use them to explain things to others. I also tend to return frequently to my time as a line cook at Aqua here in San Francisco for inspiration. My talk at MX reflected both of these threads.

I took the Glushko and Tabbas paper as a starting point, and discussed service/customer experience design from the perspective of the restauranteur. The needs and capabilities of the front and back of the house must be managed and balanced to provide a complete and compelling experience for diners – something I think everyone struggling with getting front and back stage organizations to cooperate could learn from.

There will be MP3s available at some point, and I’ll link to them when they’re up. For the time being, enjoy the slides. [ed note – image credits are all at the end, Keynote builds all got flattened, and the
typography is Whitney and Archer, both from the inimitable Hoefler & Frere-Jones]

Categories: conferences, work