Home > work > making change

making change

*UPDATE* Welcome, VentureBeat readers! More details on Adaptive Path’s work on MySpace and Plazes can be found below. I’m excited to be joinging Jason Shellen and the Plinky team, and looking forward to the challenges ahead. Thanks for stopping by!

So, sometimes, coincidence conspires to provide us with rather tidy ends to the chapters of our lives. Threads come together, tying themselves into a proper bow (or tourniquet, in some cases).

I spent the first six months of this year splitting time between LA and SF, working to get the new MySpace redesign off the ground. The first piece of it launched last week, to a more positive response than I was actually anticipating (what can I say, I’m cautious). And following the successful rollout of the MySpace work, comes the announcement of some good news I’ve been sitting on for a bit: my friends at Plazes have been acquired by Nokia.

So. The biggest piece of client work I’ve ever lead launches to a strong positive response. Then my largest engagement for Adaptive Path’s New Ventures program gets acquired, providing nice validation for the work my team and I did. That acquisition plus AOL’s recent purchase of Sphere (another NV client I had the good fortune to work with) clearly demonstrate the value of the New Ventures program. It was risky and it was hard, but it worked, and I couldn’t be happier.

Every piece of work that I’ve put energy into over the last three years at Adaptive Path has payed out in the last week. I’m a lucky bastard – everything has come together rather neatly, and seemingly just in time.

Friday, June 27th will be my last day at Adaptive Path. I feel I can confidentally say that I have achieved more in my time at AP than I believed possible. I am endebted to the entire organization for their support and friendship over the years, and I will continue to play an active roll in events and the creative conversation as an AP Alum.

There will be more to say about what’s happening next very shortly. For the time being, I just would like to thank everyone I had the grand opportunity to work with at Adaptive Path. It has been an incredible three years, and I count myself lucky to have had the chance to experience it.

Categories: work
  1. June 24, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Congratulation on new beginnings and cheers to your continued success! Holla! I’m excited for you!

  2. June 28, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Congratulations Ryan! I recently met Shellen and can’t wait to see what you guys build next.

    Frank

  1. June 27, 2008 at 6:44 am
  2. August 28, 2008 at 3:33 pm
  3. September 3, 2008 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

