Home > conferences, elsewhere > where to find me (part 1)

where to find me (part 1)

February 21, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dan’s post got me thinking I should write up where I’ll be speaking and attending in the next few months. I’ve been so buried on the Project I Can’t Talk About that my details are still a little hazy. I was actually on the fence about attending the next An Event Apart in New Orleans, and then Brian Oberkirch (who’ll be speaking there) wrote the following:

Need more incentive to come to New Orleans in April? Jasmine, sweet olive, honeysuckle, street car rides down St. Charles to Audubon Park, boiled crawfish at Frankie & Johnny’s, 5 napkin roast beef po boys, Liuzza’s, Mandina’s, Jacques-Imo’s, the Carousel Bar, loa, Pimm’s @ Napoleon House, a gulf coast lingering slow night on the porch at the Columns. Beignets. Streets full of people more colorful than what you got in your town . (Just don’t bet them. They *can* tell you where you got your shoes.) Burgers at Port of Call after you drink too many touristy drinks like hurricanes & hand grenades. Faulkner House books. The Maple Leaf Bar. There’s a million of em, baby, you just got to come on down.

How can I resist a sales pitch like that? Expect to see me there. If you’re attending, tell me you read Second Verse and I’ll buy you a Sazerac.

Categories: conferences, elsewhere
  1. February 21, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    We look forward to seeing you there, Ryan! Now I just have to read more of Second Verse so I can legitimately claim that Sazerac. Well, that and I’ll have to start drinking alcohol.

  2. March 11, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Hi Ryan,

    I actually just left SXSW came home and was really inspired/reaffirmed by the conversation you led at the end about work enviroment/expectations and such.

    Just wanted to say it was fantastic, I work by myself in a small marketing agency and often get misunderstood on how I work or how long things may take, and being able to disconnect and get things done is a big frustration at times. So at the very least, thanks for bringing us together to talk about something that I think is a lot more common then otherwise thought.

    I’m hoping to make it out to An Event Apart, if I do maybe I’ll buy you that Sazerac for inspiring.

    Matt
    (I’m the one who goes for walks haha)

  3. March 26, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Matt, thanks for attending the Core Conversation! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and cheers for contributing. Hope to see you in NOLA!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

