Home > brands > xerox has lost their f-ing mind

xerox has lost their f-ing mind

Brand New presents evidence item #0001:

xerox_logo.gif

Categories: brands
  1. January 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Ah…nice, Ryan. As an attendee of UX week in DC the last couple years I’d expect more constructive feedback from Adaptive Path employees. I’m certain Adaptive Path expects more professional candor than this.

  2. January 8, 2008 at 12:45 am

    Bjorn, I appreciate the comment, but I’d say you’ve got the wrong idea about “candor” – usually it implies that you’re free to speak your mind without fearing for discrimination or reprisal. Which is exactly what I did.

    Now. If your expectation was that I’d go deeper in my analysis of Xerox’s abandonment of an established (one could even say iconic) identity for something easily misplaced in the landscape of modern product branding than a trite little title and link? Sure. No problem. I’ll take that criticism.

    In my own defense, this isn’t the AP blog. What I do here is my own ideas, on my own time. I try to write as little as possible about what AP does over here – because I have interests outside of my work. Comics, food, whatever. Knowing that, I hope you’ll be less disappointed, and maybe more of a reader of my colleagues’ blogs, and maybe less of mine. Cheers.

  3. January 8, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Ryan-

    Well, I appreciate your candor, and that’s exactly why I’ve subscribed to your page. As for your professionalism, I would say that was evidenced in the hyphenated expletive.

    Thank you for reminding me about Under Consideration. One of the bonuses of reading the article was the phrase “senseless threedimensionalization” which, going forward, I intend to use in as many contexts as possible.

    Keep telling it like it is.

  4. January 8, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Brick, thank you for the encouragement.

    I’m actually trying to sort out which offends me more – the implication that I don’t know where I work or what my employers expect of me (Bjorn’s “certainty” is as unfounded as his premise is erroneous) or the idea that being an alum of AP events somehow confers some kind of special status that makes a person or company exempt from my (or any AP-er’s) criticism.

    The implication here is that I would appear more professional if I withheld a negative opinion (on my personal site) because I might offend someone with whom my organization has done business with and might in the future. That sounds decidedly unprincipled, mercenary, and entirely unlike the company and cause to which I belong.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

