Home > links, writing > i know that look

i know that look

December 12, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

David Sedaris writes about mourning and business-class travel in this week’s New Yorker:

“May I bring you a drink to go with those warm nuts, Mr. Sedaris?” the woman looking after me asked—this as the people in coach were still boarding. The looks they gave me as they passed were the looks I give when the door of a limousine opens. You always expect to see a movie star, or, at the very least, someone better dressed than you, but time and time again it’s just a sloppy nobody. Thus the look, which translates to “Fuck you, Sloppy Nobody, for making me turn my head.”

[found via Brijit, which I cannot recommend strongly enough]

Categories: links, writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

