Home > entertainment, play > cowtown

cowtown

I ran the Sacramento Cowtown Marathon this past weekend, and enjoyed it thoroughly. A lingering case of bronchitis had threatened to derail my training and the event itself, but I felt good enough after the first half (the marathon course is a double loop) that I slowed down my pace and just focused on finishing the whole thing.

right after the race

As a course, I have to say the Cowtown was a vast improvement over the Napa Valley Marathon course: faster, flatter, with better organization. It was certainly smaller in attendance, but there were more water and aid stations. For a hot day in October, the set up was perfect.

I want to thank everyone who contributed to my fundraising for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Particularly, I’d like to express my gratitude to Matt Mullenweg and Jeff Veen for their very generous support. Having people behind you is one of the primary motivators for finishing, and I appreciated all the encouragement I received.

One thing I was not prepared to believe about marathons: they actually do get easier after the first one. My calves are tight, my knees are sore, and I’m walking around like a village drunk in an Irish novel… but I feel great. My recovery proceeds well, and I’m already thinking about doing the Las Vegas Half Marathon in six weeks.

Categories: entertainment, play
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

