Home > elsewhere, food, influences, writing > ambidextrous magazine

ambidextrous magazine

I'm (in) Ambidextrous

Sorry to cross-post, but I know that at least one or two people who come here probably don’t read the Adaptive Path blog.

The article that I wrote for Ambidextrous’ “Food” issue is being published, and they were nice enough to provide me with a PDF of it. Give it a read, let me know what you think.

The process of getting published was certainly a learning experience. I actually wrote the article back in November. I had written twice as many words as they’d asked for (I absolutely need to work on that), and they were nice enough to come back with some great edits and a request to increase the word count beyond the initial proposal. Even better, they asked me to get their photographer Mike into the kitchen at Aqua so he could take some shots to accompany the article.

I like the way the finished piece looks – lots of people had a hand in getting it to this point, and I appreciate all the help I got (thank you to Evany, Amanda, Lora and Mike!). I’m hoping the article serves to start a conversation, if nothing else.

Categories: elsewhere, food, influences, writing
  1. Julie Hamwood
    August 4, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    lovely article; so true about the importance of trust šŸ™‚

  2. November 3, 2007 at 10:30 am

    I am a class mate of AP intern Irene Chong who recommended this article.

    I also studied and worked to be a chef and am finishing up my dual masters degree at ID so this article hits home.

    It is amazing how powerful the classic analogy of cooking can be. Whether the lessons are from particular methods or the breakdown of the process, cooking goes beyond just the making of the dish into team work and systems behind the event of cooking.

    Great piece.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

