Home > links > running for a cure

running for a cure

When my cousin was diagnosed with leukemia in 2005, I joined Team in Training to to raise funds for much needed research. I committed to running the Napa Marathon (my first), and to do my part to raise money and awareness for the work the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society does to find a cure. With the help of my family and friends, I was able to raise over $4000 – and had a fantastic race, too boot.

My cousin has since gone into remission, but of course, the crisis is far from over. There have been more diagnoses, amongst friends and family… and thousands more, all of whom could hopefully benefit from the advocacy and funding the Society provides. Knowing that there is still work to do, I’ve committed to run again this year. I’m hoping that new therapies (and maybe even cures) for blood cancers might be within sight.

If you can, I’d appreciate any help you can provide. If you’d like to make a donation, here’s a link to my fundraising page on Active.com:

Picture 2

Thank you for your support!

Categories: links
  1. June 22, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    Good Cause hopefully someday there will be a cure!

  2. June 23, 2007 at 12:35 am

    What you’re doing is really remarkable. I hope your cousin stays well.

  3. June 23, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Thank you, everyone, for the support and donations – the response to this post has been incredible, and greatly appreciated.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

