Home > appearances, conferences > advertising has a future

advertising has a future

Of that much I’m certain. It’s the particulars I’m hazy on.

My panel today at Supernova was interesting, if overlong – I tend to think that 90 minutes is a stretch. Still, Deborah Schultz did a good job of keeping things moving, asking a variety of questions that had all of us engaged. I wasn’t exactly taking notes, but here’s my breakdown* of how those 90 minutes got spent:

04 minutes – Dick bemoaning the sorry state of online discussion of the Croissanwich
02 minutes – References to Hagelian Dialectic
03 minutes – Me comparing advertising platforms to “small, stupid, eager to please dogs”
07 minutes – Ev displaying a laid-back attitude towards advertising/commerce in general
02 minutes – Technorati plugs
02 minutes – Feedburner plugs
05 minutes – Super Deluxe plugs
02 minutes – Twitter plugs
02 minutes – Cisco plugs
01 minutes – Ev namechecking Tia Tequila
03 minutes – Ev and I trying to figure out if product placement even works anymore
08 minutes – Members of the audience accusing us of being arrogant
08 minutes – Me thinking some in the audience were a little smug themselves
43 minutes – Assorted commentary, forecasting, and nonsense

I think it all worked out rather nicely. Ev remarked afterwards how odd it was that a panel devoted to online advertising never once made reference to Adwords. So it was definitely not a typical industry panel, I’d surmise, though I’ve never actually attended an advertising panel before, much less spoken on one.

I’m thinking that the guy from Nielsen Netratings who spoke up about metrics and accountability should have been on the panel, too. I’ve realized in hindsight that there’s a discussion that’s waiting to happen between the people building these platforms and those who’re looking to populate (and effectively fund) them.

More conversation seems to be necessary.

(* not real numbers)

Categories: appearances, conferences
  1. June 20, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Really? Two minutes on Hegalian Dialectic? I think thats a stretch… and wasn’t it a great way to think about the progression of the communications profession?

    And sorry for seeming to plug Technorati. Some of that is context setting – can’t just get up and say
    “Hi I’m Ted, it really doesn’t matter who I am or what I do.” I definitely hate it when people just plug their companies on these panels.

    But overall you seem to feel it went well — I guess I was a little less positive. I’m not sure I like the panel model in general. I kept seeing more and more people in the audience that I know and thinking “well he knows more about this than I do, what am I doing up here again?” 🙂

    Great to meet you, lets keep up the conversation.

  2. June 20, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Well, Hagel came up twice in 90 minutes. I gave it 2 out of courtesy. And EVERYONE got two minutes for plugging, so no apologizing. Notice I overinflated my own numbers for plugging Super Deluxe. I agree, it’s hard to not say what you do when you’re up there. Else, what’s the point?

    As for panels in general – I think they have their place. But when they turn into conversations between panelists and the people they know in the crowd (e.g. this morning’s talk with Dave and Doc), I tend to wonder why everyone doesn’t just skip out and get some coffee together. It’d be easier without the damn mics.

    And good to meet you as well. Look to hear more about what Technorati is up to (plug away!) soon.

  3. john
    June 21, 2007 at 11:29 am

    > It’s the particulars I’m hazy on.

    i was just talking with lane yesterday about that very thing.

    anecdote: a friend of mine asked me to quit my day job and join his agency, and i told him “i just don’t know what to tell people (big brands) any more!”

    what do i tell levi’s? “put up a billboard with a guy, kissing a girl, kissing another girl, with a snowboard leaning on the couch, and a crumpled pair of jeans on the ground.”

    what levers can levi’s really pull to revive their brand? i could blue sky on social applications and “value-adding” content (barf) but what can they ~really~ do?

    complicate that with the intersection of what they’d be ~willing~ to do, and i have nothing to say.

  4. June 21, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    John – I think you’d be surprised at what some brands are willing to do. The old stuff isn’t working anymore, even with gratuitous sexual titillation as per your mock Levi’s suggestion. Tell brands they have to go back to the way they did marketing in 1875, but updated for the global village…

  5. June 23, 2007 at 12:08 am

    ooh – this is where is gets funs. I think one issue is brands being willing to take the time and attention to develop growth and not quick hits on a single campaign – hence the relationship economy.

    I am tired and it’s late and been a long week. Just thought I would pop in again to say danka for jumping in to start a conversation i hope we all continue. I am tired of silos – how about a meet-up or monthly drinks witha combination of techs. UI, BD, Marketing, Community ‘types’ all looking at problems from the individual POV..just a thought…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

