Home > entertainment, infodesign > daylife launches beta

daylife launches beta

January 4, 2007

I read more news than is probably healthy for my mood – mostly politics and business. I’m picky about sources, and I’m a fan of anything that gives me enough material upfront to see if a story is worth my time to click through and read more. Up til now, that’s meant I spend a lot of time on Memeorandum, but with the launch of Daylife, it looks like I’ve got another (very well designed) option.

daylife

Now in beta, Daylife treats stories in a remarkably visual fashion, putting photography (check out the covers section) and pull quotes front and center, all while providing a multitude of links to coverage by quality legacy media outlets. All of these things help me do quick evaluations of a story’s merits; if I choose to persue them, the variety of sources let me triangulate on the truth of any given story – small variations in coverage can indicate where a story is headed (or whether it’s got “legs” or not).

I’m definitely intrigued by the project, and look forward to seeing how well it fits into my regular media diet.

Categories: entertainment, infodesign
