Home > conferences, elsewhere > ux week: “facilitating collaboration”

ux week: “facilitating collaboration”

I presented this morning, running through all 112 of my slides in an action-packed 45 minutes. I want to thank everybody who attended – the crowd rocked (way bigger than I expected), asked great questions afterwards, and in general overwhelmed me with the feedback. People seemed to enjoy it, though I’m still kinda hoping someone comes up to me and tells me I’m full of shit.

You know, so I can at least feel like I’ve generated some strong feelings on both sides.

The deck I presented is full of my observations on collaboration tools, how to evaluate them, and how to encourage their uptake in your organization. I’m talking to a few people about what happens to this material next – blog posts? a free report on the Adaptive Path site? We’ll figure it out. I’m eager to get an opportunity to refine it and present it again. I’ll put an update here on my blog if I can figure out a reliable place to make a PDF of the deck available for download.

[update]: Full session notes for my presentation are now available from Sam and Dan. Also, be sure to check out all the notes available at the UX Week ’06 Wiki.

Categories: conferences, elsewhere
  1. john
    August 16, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    ~112~ slides? you ARE full of shit!

    = )

  2. August 17, 2006 at 8:37 am

    Ryan,

    It was fun hanging out with you all last night. I checked out your deck and I’m now bummed I didn’t see your presentation (not that I had much of a choice like Bart did).

    Regardless, have a good laugh at this smirnoff youtube execution that I mentioned:

    http://www.advercation.com/2006/08/16/youtube-smirnoff-tea-partay/

    -Corbett

  3. August 18, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    Ryan,
    I got a lot out of your 112 slides. I thank you for putting that together. And for sharing your experiences with the tools and ideas. I have blown the better part of today, first day back after spending the last 4 days at UX Week ’06, hanging with your notes and checking out all the new goodies. Becoming familiar with better tools (subethaedit) and the weight AP places on wikis–alone are worth the price of admission. Thanks man!
    skeith

  4. August 19, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    Pete & Steve, glad you dug the deck. The enthusiastic response to the presentation from attendees all but assures that I’ll be doing more to extend this material in the short term.

    For those who haven’t seem them yet, I should point out that the slides are lightweight and purposeful (despite the large number of them). I tend to decompress what could be a single, dull, bulleted slide into several, using photos and visualizations to emphasize what I’m saying. It’s rough on printers afterward, but I like that it focuses people on what I’m saying at the time.

  5. September 3, 2009 at 8:00 am

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

